Host Societies

Hosted by:

  • Ophthalmological Society of South Africa (OSSA)
    The Ophthalmological Society of South Africa promotes the interests of ophthalmology in general and of its members in particular. OSSA remains committed to a vision of attainable, best quality vision for all. The society has a number of core functions and aims to support members whilst engaging with all stakeholders in eye care to provide patient-driven care in the field of ophthalmology. More information about membership can be obtained on the OSSA website or by contacting the OSSA office by email (

Co‑hosted by:

  • Middle East African Council of Ophthalmology (MEACO)
    MEACO is one of the five supranational organizations representing the national and sub-regional ophthalmological societies in Africa and the Middle East, including Turkey and Iran. MEACO’s goal is to reduce visual impairment and elevate the quality of eye care for the people of the Middle East and Africa through enhancing education, training, research and practice of Ophthalmology for ophthalmologists and other eye care personnel in collaboration with all stakeholders.
  • African Ophthalmology Council (AOC)
    The African Ophthalmology Council, AOC, is a regional ophthalmology organization, whose aim is to represent the interests of national and sub-regional ophthalmological societies across Sub Saharan Africa, as well as that of the members of those societies. It is also a platform for ophthalmologists in the diaspora to contribute to the agenda of improving eye health care in Sub Saharan Africa. The AOC was established by the International Council of Ophthalmology (ICO) and Middle East Africa Council of Ophthalmology (MEACO) known as the Advisory Leadership Group (ALG) for Sub Saharan Africa (SSA) with the aim to strengthen ophthalmology on the continent.